SCHEDULE A TOUR     |     DONATE NOW    |     PARENTS

Middle School Social Studies

About
Syllabus
Homework Policy
Links
Newsletter
Pictures

Junior high students explore the stories of history through exploration and analysis of primary sources. From 6th through 8th-grade students will be using a combination of methods to explore history in depth, focusing on the concepts and facts in a meaningful, captivating, and entertaining way. The students will develop reading comprehension skills with expository text, formal reasoning, note-taking, research, collaborative work, oral presentations, technology-based projects, highlighting, outlining, concept mapping (graphic organizers), current events, debates, and simulations.

  • 6th grade explores ancient civilizations from early Hominids through the fall of Ancient Rome.
  • 7th grade explores the creation of the United States from early colonies and governments to post Civil War Reconstruction.
  • 8th grade explores the United States in the modern world from post Reconstruction industrialization through current day.

Social Studies Syllabus

Electronic Textbooks

What’s New In Social Studies?

The Past Two Weeks in History

Important Dates: Monday, February 11 – All school mass 9 am (hosted by 7th grade) Tuesday, February 12 – 5th grade Musical -2 pm and 7 pm Thursday, February 14 – Assembly Schedule -Valentine’s Day Thursday, February 14 – $1 Pink or Red Dress Down Day Friday, February 15 – 7th and 8th grade Winter Dance...
Read More

The Past Two Weeks in History 1/14-1/25

Important Dates: Sunday, January 27-Catholic Schools Week Mass (9:30 am) Open House (10:30 am) Monday, January 28-PJ day dress down with buddy time Tuesday, January 29-Stripes and Flannel dress down Wednesday, January 30-Teacher Appreciation Day 10:30 am Mass Thursday, January 31-Student Appreciationtion Day-free choice dress down Friday, February 1-Red and White game (even classrooms wear...
Read More

The Past Two Weeks in History 12/16-1/11

Important Dates: Wednesday, January 16-$1 Throwback dress down Wednesday, January 16-8th grade graduation photos 8 am Thursday, January 17-9 am Mass Friday, January 18-Interim ASPIRE testing Friday, January 18-Cardinal Pursuit 7 pm Monday, January 21-No School (Martin Luther King Day) Friday, January 25-History Fair projects due Sunday, January 27-Catholic Schools Week Mass (9:30 am) Open...
Read More

The Past Two Weeks in History 12/7-12/14

Important Events: $1 Ugly Christmas Sweater student council dress down – Wednesday, December 19 Kindergarten/8th grade Christmas Mass 9 am- Thursday, December 20 Early Dismissal (pds 4-7) – Friday, December 21 Christmas Break – Monday, December 24-Friday, January 4 School Resumes – Monday, December 7 $1 Your Choice student council dress down – Wednesday, January...
Read More

The Past Two Weeks in History 11/19-11/30

Saturday, December 1st – Catholic High School Entrance Exam Monday, December 3rd – Advent Reconciliation grades 3-8, starting at 9 am Tuesday, December 4th – “Fun” raiser at Chipotle in Countryside, 5pm Tuesday, December 4th – Cardinal College, 7pm Wednesday, December 5th – Club and team yearbook pictures Thursday, December 6th – $1 bright green...
Read More